Bald 'n Sassy

Life is for the living. Live simply. Expect less.

Lucky number 7

Well not sure it is lucky or not but it was round 7 of chemo a fortnight ago.  Oh boy, the side effects post chemo was tough at times.  The worst side effects was the body aches and the bad headaches. The body aches I felt was right through the bones.  It made it difficult for me to fall asleep and sit up right for too long.  I laid in bed for most of the day trying to get some rest.  Even falling asleep at night was a challenge.  The aches prolonged that falling asleep was hard.  Once I do, I would be tossing and turning throughout the night and wake up feeling more tired in the morning.  Cat naps was indeed in my recovery plan.  Having headaches didn’t help either.  I felt that I was supporting a bowling ball with my neck coupled with the slight nausea was not a great mix. Taking strong Panadol didn’t make it go away.

Coming back to my treatment day.  When I walked into the clinic, my favourite nurse from the pathology lab was sitting in the waiting area.  Whether it was coincidence that she was there or she just finished taking blood from another patient.  I like to think she was there for me.  Like previous experience, it was a painless experience when she poked the needle for the blood test.  A good start to that day.

Time for the review the blood test.  It was a rather a busy Friday at the clinic.  I had to wait for my turn to see the oncologist.  The doctor had a smile on her face when she opened her door greeting me to enter her office.  As soon as I sat down, the first news she shared was the cancer markers has decreased to 56.5 from 66.3 – FINALLY!  What a relief!  I could say it is definitely lucky number 7. The other components in the blood test indicated that I am still slightly anemic and white blood cells to be low.  Even though it is low, it was acceptable to go ahead with the next round of chemo.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It has been a while since I had the company of other patients in the treatment rooms. Sharon, a young nurse working at the clinic shared that one woman was rejected treatment by another oncologist for the simple reason that her cancer has advanced cancer that chemo would be futile.  However, she didn’t give up hope and sought a second opinion my oncologist.  Our oncologist took her case and prescribed a treatment schedule buying her more time.  There are two school of thoughts here.  One doctors’ are taught to save lives and convince patient’s to consider all possible medical solutions.  This would mean more financial impact for the patient. On the side of the spectrum some doctor’s may tell you the prognosis and enjoy whatever time that you have left.  Of course some person would not accept the news and look towards alternative medicines to prolong their life. What would you do if you are placed in this situation?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Lucky number 7

  1. Great to read that your cancer markers have dropped! Excellent news, and here’s to that continuing. Your question about what to do in the situation when one doctor says further treatment options should be considered, and then another doctor saying that all methods have been exhausted is not something I am qualified to comment about, but I am sure it happens often. Doctors are not always on the same page when it comes to treatments – and realistically, how can they be with such a complex area as health & medicine? But thankfully, with so much sharing of knowledge in the global medical community they soon keep up to date with each other.

    • Thanks, Simon. I do agree that it is a complex when it comes to dealing with another persons life. With the wealth of info on the web, we can learn much more. It is also rather dangerous at times because we humans have the tendency to self diagnose ourselves.

Leave a Reply

