Bald 'n Sassy

Life is for the living. Live simply. Expect less.

Slight change of plans for round 5

Number 5 must be my lucky number.  It is exactly 5 days ago that I had another round of chemo treatment.  However there is a slight change of plans. The morning of the treatment started like any chemo session – a blood test.  I was hoping to have my favourite nurse to draw my precious blood but wasn’t my day.  I am not sure if she was rushed for time.  It was rather painful when she poked me with the needle. I could feel the blood flowing into the tube.  My arm was sore and weak for several hours – this is the first time I have felt any discomfort post a blood test.

So what is the change of plan you might ask.  The cancer marker level in my blood test showed a northward trend – about 10% increase from 56 to 62. This is not what I wanted to see.  My oncologist did not hesitate to advise me that we need to change the chemo drugs.  The plan is to go back using the set of chemo drugs administered last year.  The combo drugs are Carboplatin and Taxotere.  Before we proceeded with the treatment, she gave me an option of changing Taxotere to another drug called Taxol. From what she explained to me, Taxol is within the same class of Taxotere and used to various cancers such as breast and ovarian.  Taxol can be administered either on a weekly basis or every 3 weeks. I just can imagine not having a rest in between each session.  Plus my veins would not be able to recover in time.  I could have opted to insert a catheter but I can’t bring myself to go under the knife once again even if it is for very short duration.  I would be silly enough not to take up the 3 week plan. Mind you it takes around 4 to 4.5 hours to fully administer.   At least I have a longer period to recuperate in between each session.

Now that treatment plan took a detour, the next question I had to ask the doctor is how many rounds would I need to complete.  The answer I received is “Until the cancer markers has stabilized”.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am happy to say that the side effects for the new drugs are much easier to manage than the Japanese Campto drug.  No nausea, a slight headache and body aches for a day or two.  Mind you I am still very cautious about my immunity in the first post chemo.  My white blood cells has crept up a little higher but I am not completely out of the woods.

I am looking forward to walking out of the house for some natural Vitamin D tomorrow.  The other happy news is that I can fit in more swimming days in between treatments.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

