Bald 'n Sassy

Life is for the living. Live simply. Expect less.

Chronicles of Chemotheraphy – Cycle #5

Dark clouds coupled with showers outside my windows. This was the weather that greeted me yesterday morning. It is the second Tuesday in the new year but it was another in schedule where I had to go for chemotherapy. This mark as my fifth treatment. I wanted to spend a few minutes to blog this last night but I just didn’t have enough energy to write one sentence.

As you would have gathered from reading my other blogs, I am taking my time to scribble my experiences. But at least I can say “anytime is a good time”. So this is a good time for me.

My sister drove me to the appointment. Arrived a few minutes after 10am. First thing as soon as I stepped into the clinic, I took myself to the treatment room to have my blood test. A nurse from an external lab services came in to do the necessary. My favourite nurse wasn’t available. And not being big fan of needles and it hurt a teeny bit this time. I had to wait for at least 1.5 hours before the results are back. In the meantime, I would step out to a shopping mall across the road to have my late breakfast.

Headed back to the clinic to see the oncologist and have a catch up session before I begin my chemo. She went through the result and said my immunity is looking good except the white blood cells (which was to be expected). She asked me what I did differently from the previous session. I replied that eating habits pretty much the same but the only thing I started to do is swimming. Exercise was one of my to do list from the start of the new year. She commended that it was good and advised me to include some exercise in between cycles. Doctor said exercise could potentially slow down the dormant cancer cells. I am even more motivated to continue with swimming. The other positive result in the blood test is the CEA (Carcinoembryonic Antigen) markers. The markers level has reduced from 8 to 6.7. It indicates that the drugs are reducing new cancer cells from producing and spreading to other parts of the body. This was music to my ears šŸ™‚ Thereafter, I walked out of the office, had some medications whilst the nurses prepared the drugs for the chemo.

Made my myself comfortable on the sofa and while a nurse hunts for a good vein by tapping my right hand. It took a good 5 minutes before she was confident one was a good vein. Then she inserted the needle. I looked away taking deep breaths to calm myself while she does the insertion. No matter how calm I try to be, I could still feel the needle going in. Once again, it did feel a little painful but tolerable. It takes approximately 2.5 hours to administer the drugs. In this period, I had my book with me to help me kill time. My session ended by 2.45pm. Waited a few minutes to compose myself, picked up my post chemo meds, paid the bill and left to grab myself a small bite to eat. Reached home just before 4pm. Even during the car ride home, I could feel the onset of tirenes. All I wanted to when is to take a shower and take a nap as soon as I get home. The nap wasn’t a comfortable one either. My body was aching and kept tossing and turning. I felt even more drowsier and stoned than before the nap. I know I have to endure this for a little while longer. That’s about it from me for this chapter. I’ll be back with more posts with my other chemo sessions. Stay tuned!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Chronicles of Chemotheraphy – Cycle #5

  1. SimonC on said:

    I’ve been fortunate the past few times I’ve had to have blood drawn for tests etc. that I hardly felt the jab – sorry it wasn’t the case with you! I also usually glance away while they are doing their thing, and filling the capsules. Back in my home country of England, I would give blood every few months, and vividly remember my donation looking like a bag of tomato ketchup at the end! The cup of tea and cookies were quite welcome after that. Over here in the USA, I am not allowed to donate blood due to rules stating that people who have spent so many months living in England in the past couple of decades are excluded due to the outbreak of Mad Cows Disease over there. I remember about ten years ago walking over to a local Red Cross donation centre, and after reading the long list of requirements on the form, discovering that I wouldn’t be giving any blood that day!

  2. I use to donate blood myself in Australia and here in Singapore. Since my cancer diagnosis, I am no longer eligible for donation.

    Mad cows disease eh. I always knew you wee bit quirky but now I know why šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

